Science for the People, the 1970s and today, then and now

One shift since the 1970s, interestingly not remarked much on during the conference just ended, “Science for the People, the 1970s and today,” is the rise of more self-conscious participatory processes.  This early morning youtube provides my reflection on the conference through the lens of being more self-conscious about participatory processes.  The document I am using to prompt my unscripted talk can be seen at http://wp.me/p1gwfa-rS.

To be clear: The document was prepared by me, a participant, after a post-Occupy “disconference,” not by the organizing committee.  I did send the committee a copy, but my primary motivation was not to diss the disconference, but rather to put any dissatisfaction behind me by using my experience to learn, to clarify what I think about better engaging participants’ interests and energies.  The same “Plus-Delta” spirit of learning (or “refractive practice“) motivates the youtube.

2 thoughts on “Science for the People, the 1970s and today, then and now

  1. Peter J. Taylor Post author

    Apologies about production values–I didn’t have the right settings for my headphones. But if I held off till I could redo the recording — or create a script specifically about the SftP conference, I fear it wouldn’t happen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

